Diversity on the Shelf 2015 Reading Challenge

 diverse
Welcome to the 2nd year of the Diversity on the Shelf reading challenge. The aim of Diversity on the Shelf 2015 Challenge is add diversity to you bookshelf by reading books by authors of color and/or about a main character of color.

 

Challenge Details

1. Any book (by any author) with a main character that is a person of color qualifies for this reading challenge, as well as any book written by an author of color. The goal is to encourage readers have a more diverse reading experience and to support diversity in the publishing industry by reading and reviewing books by or about person of color.

2. The challenge will run from January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2015 (books read prior to 1/1/2015 do not count towards the challenge). You can join anytime before 12/1/2015. Sign up at My Little Pocketbooks

3. Books can be any format (print, ebook, audio).

4. Novellas, Short story collections, Poetry, Graphic novels/manga, Children Books, and all genres are allowed.

5. Books can be of any publication date.

6. You can choose your books as you go or create a list in advance. Re-reads and crossovers from other reading challenges are allowed.

Join the Challenge

To join the challenge, grab the Diversity on the Shelf 2015 Challenge button and post this reading challenge on your blog to track your progress. Please include a link back to this sign-up post so others can join the reading challenge too.

You do not have to be a book blogger to participate; you can track your progress on Goodreads, LibraryThing, BookLikes, Libib, etc., just as long as you have a dedicated shelf for the Diversity on the Shelf 2015 Challenge and your profile is not private. The point of linking up is to have a place where people can see what you’re reading.

Pick a Level

Choose how many diversity centered books you would like to add to your “read” shelf in 2015:

1st Shelf: Read 1-6 books
2nd Shelf: Read 7 -12 books
3rd Shelf: Read 13 – 18 books
4th Shelf: Read 19 -24 books
5th Shelf: Read 25+ books

Once you pick a level you can go higher and read more books but you cannot go down a level.

If you’d like to participate in the Diversity on the Shelf 2015 Reading Challenge, please sign up, and if you have a blog please spread the word by grabbing the button and post about your participation.
If you need some ideas for what to read go to the original POC Reading Challenge blog.
There will be giveaways along the way, theme reads and a giveaway at the end for the participants who participate each month and completes the challenge.
I am SUPER EXCITED to participate in this. I’m writing diverse characters, and I need to make sure I’m reading as many diverse books as possible. I’m going to aim for a 3rd shelf of 13-18 books. I’m currently working two part-time jobs and the next semester starts mid-late January, which will take up even more of my time. In no particular order, here are some of the books I intend to read next year:
1. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
2. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
3. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
4. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
5. Mexican WhiteBoy by Matt de la Pena
6. Boxers & Saints by Gene Luen Yang
7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
8. Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
9. Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu
10. The Jumbies by Tracy Baptiste
11. Fight Like a Girl (comic). I believe it is supposed to have 4 issues. I’m getting the first one for Christmas. I may have to force myself to keep it until New Years.
12. Ms. Marvel (comic) monthly issues for a total of 12 issues (because it is my favorite)
13. Storm (comic) monthly issues (as long as she isn’t canceled)
14. Rat Queens Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth (because you should be reading this if you’re not. Vol. 1 is called Sass and Sorcery. What more do you need? The answer: nothing. I love all of the Rat Queens, and I need more).
15. Lumerjanes (comic) monthly issues, which I hope will be a total of 12 because it is AMAZING and rival my love for Ms. Marvel. The next blog series will be about all the woman and other cool things Lumberjanes inspired me to research.
16. TBD
17. TBD
18. TBD
I’d really like some grade middle grade fantasy, but I’m have a difficult time finding them easily doing a quick Google search. I don’t have to time to an in-depth search at the moment, but if anyone has any suggestions, please leave them in the comments!
Advertisements

Holiday Query Blog Hop

In case you’re not here from Michelle4Laughs, she’s hosting a Holiday Query Blog Hope.

This is actually a query for a WIP, and my first foray into writing middle grade.So, please tear it to shreds and offer advice. 🙂

Quilla is biracial (African American and Mexican) and Deaf, but that’s not mentioned in the query because it isn’t the focus of the book, and I’m not sure of how or if it should be worked into the query. Any thoughts on that are greatly appreciated. Also, I’m not sure about the bio part. I don’t have anything published to mention, so don’t know if what I’ve included is relevant or if I should just take out all the personal info.

And Wonderland is a tentative title for the novel and the world. This isn’t a retelling, but does have fairy tale elements from many different tales, especially since Quilla is a bookworm.

Second Attempt:

Eleven-year-old Quilla is the only biracial Deaf student in her Southern school and has read more than anyone else in the sixth grade, but those are the two most least interesting facts about her. Quilla creates worlds by wishing on dandelions.

It’s been six months since Quilla’s sister, Amy, died in the first world Quilla created, Wonderland. Six months since Amy’s face was plastered across the news and the hunt began. Six months since Quilla was chased out of Wonderland by her sister’s murderer and promised to be killed if she ever returned. Assured by the fact that no one she created can leave Wonderland, Quilla wants nothing more than to get through sixth grade unnoticed at a new school.

But Aaron is her in Pre-Algebra class. Aaron, who has only ever lived in Wonderland, is on Earth, and has a message she can’t dare to believe: Amy is alive. Quilla can’t pretend her worlds no longer exist. Aaron has to be lying, but there’s only one way to find out. She must return to Wonderland, but Wonderland is nothing like she remembers.

Wonderland is burnt and destroyed and dying. It is no longer a matter of convincing Amy to stop playing queen and return home. It’s a quest to save Wonderland and all the other worlds she created as a child. No one but Quilla can save Wonderland and she has only three days to save the worlds and take Amy home. Except Amy doesn’t want to leave. Quilla must make the ultimate decision—to sacrifice Wonderland and drag her sister home or save Wonderland and return to Earth without her.

Wonderland is a middle grade novel complete at 60,000 words. It is a standalone novel though there is room to expand the universe. It will appeal to fans of Catherynne M. Valente, Anne Ursu, and Branon Mull. This is my debut novel. I have a Bachelor’s in English from East Tennessee State University and work part-time as a bookseller and a Youth Services Library Assistant. Thank you for your time and consideration.

First Attempt (I’m assuming I’m going to be doing edits, so I’m gonna go ahead and number these)

Dear Blog Hopper Critters:

Eleven-year-old Quilla wants nothing more than to make it through her first year of middle school unnoticed. But that’s impossible when everyone knows her as the Deaf girl whose sister disappeared six month ago. She doesn’t want to remember her sister, Amy, dying in a world Quilla created by wishing on a dandelion. She wants to pretend all the worlds she created don’t exist. She wants to forget Henry promised to kill her if she returned to Wonderland.

But Aaron is in her Pre-Algebra class. Aaron who lives in Wonderland, where Amy died, and should not be able to come to Earth. Aaron, who has a message Quilla can’t dare to believe: Amy’s alive. Quilla can no longer pretend her worlds don’t exist. Aaron has to be lying, but there’s only way to know for sure. She must return to Wonderland.

Wonderland is nothing like she remembers. It’s burnt and destroyed and dying. It is no longer a matter of dodging Henry and convincing Amy to stop playing queen and return home. It is a quest to save Wonderland and all the other worlds she created as a child in only three days. But can she save both Amy and Wonderland? Can she sacrifice Wonderland and its people to save her sister or will she say goodbye to Amy to save her world?

Wonderland is a middle grade novel complete at 60,000 words. It is a stand alone though there is room to expand the universe. It will appeal to fans of Catherynne M. Valente, Anne Ursu, and Branon Mull. This is my debut novel. Thank you for your time and consideration.